By Username
Enter a URL of an MRSS feed

And so we reach the end of the year and the obligatory retrospective edition. This year we’ve opted for a slightly different format, bringing together our three regular shows – RIPL, RIRS and Rhythm Incursions – into one bumper 3h edition that looks back at our favourite music from 2011. With each of us selecting one hour of music, this end of year show features primarily music and tracks which we’ve previously aired as well as a few additions culled from releases and/or artists we’ve supported this year.

We start with the Rhythm Incursions mix presented by Laurent which features a mini feature on the label of the year which is Keysound Recordings, the London label headed by Blackdown. Despite having had a fairly quiet year in comparison to other labels, Keysound’s put out three outstanding albums from Damu, LV & Joshua Idehen and Sully, as well as a handful of 12″s that have all been featured on previous shows and been staples of many sets. As the adage goes quality not quantity and while it’s true that this has actually been a busy year for the label we feel that they really deserve the accolade. Alongside Keysound, the mix features regulars from the past year as well as our favourite releases including Om Unit, Shabazz Palaces, Slugabed, EAN, Kode 9, Yosi Horikawa (with his track from the Nihon Kizuna compilation), NastyNasty, Mark Pritchard under both his solo and Africa Hitech aliases, Machinedrum, Sepalcure and 1000Names.

Primus Luta meanwhile also showcases his favourites – many recognisable from his own 2011 shows – in his mix. A straight up one hour mix with no talking it features some of this year’s best releases from both the electronic and rap world with the likes of 2562, Busdriver, Kendrick Lamar, Blk.Adonis, Welder, Shigeto, Lorn, Siriusmo, Madlib and Dibiase, DRC Music alongside Om Unit, Sepalcure and Sully who all make additional appearances.

And as for Raid System they opted to do another top 20 countdown of their favourite tracks of the year, though this time it isn’t live. Their mix starts with a short run down of our Nihon Kizuna release as well as Broken Haze’s joint EP with B.Bravo before getting into their top 20 for the year featuring many of the artists and labels they’ve been supporting including Joker, Nino, Rustie, Hudson Mohawke, Funkystepz, Zdot, Bobby Tank, Toddska, Starkey, Daniel Haaksman, Knight Riderz, S-Type, Munchi and more.

So there you have it, 2011 the year that was. As always a big thank you to all our listeners and fans, all the labels and artists and a special thanks to everyone who has kindly donated via the Nihon Kizuna compilation we put together while in Japan in March this year. We’ll see you in 2012 with the first show of the year our new BLN.FM syndication, the first of which is curated by Raid System. It will air live on the first tuesday of each month before being podcasted both here and on the BLN.FM site. Before that though there’s one more guest mix, part of our Friends of Friends mix series dropping on New Year’s Eve – it’s a surprise one so be sure not to miss.

You can download and/or stream the show below or simply subscribe to our RSS/iTunes feeds to get every show automatically to your computer.

Enjoy and happy new year!

Download Rhythm Incursions – 2011 The Year That Was (right click and save as)

Laurent’s mix [Running time: 00:00 to 69:50]
Yosi Horikawa – Passion – Nihon Kizuna
EAN – Clever Carl – Finest Ego
Kode 9 & Spaceape – Am I – Hyperdub
Goth Trad – Babylon Fall – Deep Medi Musik
Africa Hitech – Gangslap – Warp
E.S.T – Ajar (Klic’s Unofficial 2step edit) – Unreleased
Mini Feature – label of the year ‘Keysound Recordings’
LV & Joshuya Idehen – Northern Line – Keysound
Sully – 2hearts – Keysound
Damu – Ridin’ – Keysound
Mini feature ends
Jonwayne – Progstep – Alpha Pup
The Phantom – Artic (Devil Mix) – Senseless Records
Slugabed – New Krak Swing – Ninja Tune
Andreya Triana – Far Closer (Live) – Ninja Tune
1000Names – Milky Plastic – Project Mooncircle
Pritch & Trim – Kiss My Arse – Planet Mu
NastyNasty – Jelly – Rwina Records
Jneiro Jarel – Balada45 (Brasilian Girl) – Mochilla
Mo Kolours – Biddies – One Handed Music
Samiyam – Wonton Special – Brainfeeder
Com Truise – VHS Sex – Ghostly
Om Unit vs Kromestar – Merkabah – Cosmic Bridge Records
Baobinga & Jack Sparrow – Trans-Pennine Express – Build Recordings
Danny Brown – Die Like A Rockstar – Fool’s Gold
Adam F – Circles (Phillip D Kick Footwork Jungle edit) – Free download
Krampfhaft – Spit Thunder – Saturated Records
Machinedrum – Fantastix – Planet Mu
Sepalcure – Yuh Nuh See – Hotflush Recordings
Lorn – Stranger – Hoya Hoya
Nicolas Jaar – I Got A Woman – Circus Company
Shabazz Palaces – Free Press and Curl – Sub Pop

Primus Luta’s mix [Running time: 69:50 to 123:00]
Om Unit x Lorn – Obsidian – Free download
Kuedo – Truth Flood – Planet Mu
Raffertie – Twitch (It Grows & Grows) – Ninja Tune
The Black Dog – Greedy Gutter Guru – Dust Science
Siriusmo – Feromonikon – Monkeytown Records
Sully – In Some Pattern – Keysound Recordings
2562 – This Is Hardcore – Doubt
Sepalcure – Breezin – Hotflush Recordings
Helixir – Cooly Groove – 7even Recordings
Blk.Adonis + Rizzla – GO STR8 vs SO FINE – Self-released
Eligh & Amp Live ft. Busdriver – L.A. Dreamers – Legendary Music
Kendrick Lamar Ft Busta Rhymes – Rigamortus (Remix) – Free download
Dibia$e - Deep Winter – Self Released
Adrian Younge – Sirens – Wax Poetics
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – Deep – Stones Throw
Small Professor – Chappelle Show Back – Self Released
DRC Music feat. Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo – African Space Anthem (A.S.A.) – DRC Music
Shabazz Palaces – Swerve… The reeping of all that is worthwhile (Noir not withstanding) – Sub Pop
Blue Daisy ft. Stac – Only For You – Black Acre
Welder – I Still – Weldersounds
Shigeto – Self Compassion – Ghostly

Raid System’s Top 20 of 2011 [Running time: 123:00 to end]
1. Nino – Buio Omega – Donky Pitch
2. Rustie – Ultra Thizz – Warp
3. Zdot – Fire Bars (Remix) – Catapult
4. Taz – Hedge your bets – Rwina Records
5. Opiuo – Moose Tooth – Additech
6. Kavsrave – Your Love – Tighten Up
7. Daniel Haaksman – Bomba feat. Roxxxy Bione (NEKI Edit) – Free download
8. Virus Syndicate – Your Life (Funkystepz Club Dub) – Safe and Sound
9. Knight Riderz – Drop This – Seclusiasis
10. S-Type – Found (ACP Remix) – Free download
11. Drums Of Death – Cold Lazarus (Starkey Remix) – Civil Music
12. Hudson Mohawke – Thank You – Warp
13. Toddska – Cowboy – Girl’s Music
14. Bobby Tank – Needing Me – Vermin Street
15. Munchi – Paperchase – Rotterdam Juke
16. Rustie – Hover Traps – Warp
17. Baobinga & Hyetal – Anything for now – Build Recordings
18. Schlachthofbronx – Backup Run – Enchufada
19. Joker – Lost – 4AD
20. Blawan – Bohla – R&S Records